Recipes I’ve Tried: Jamie Eason’s Cinnamon Swirl Bread

One of the toughest things for me in regards to eating clean is staying away from sugary,carby sweets.  I am always searching for new, healthy and sweet recipes to try. So when I came across Jamie Eason’s Cinnamon Swirl Bread I had to try it, especially when she claimed it makes an excellent french toast substitute.  I have to admit she was absolutely right!  This recipe is soooo yummy.  I have been having this for breakfast for the past week with my eggs.  I grill it in a pan with non stick spray and pour some sugar free syrup (IHop brand) over the top.  Each time I eat this, I feel like I am eating something I should not be, but if you look at the nutritional facts, it fits right into any clean eating plan. I will outline the nutritional value of one serving size, as well as the recipe I used below:

Nutritional Facts:

Recipe makes 16 squares

1 square (if using 8×8 pan and not loaf pan) = 55 calories, 1 g fat, 8 g carbs, 5 g protein

If using loaf pan a 1 and 1/2 inch slice = 110, 2g fat, 16gcarbs, 10g protein

Ingredients I used:

  • 1/3 cup Stevia in the Raw
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice flour + 2 scoops Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Whey Protein Powder in Vanilla
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup Stevia in the Raw
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup Silk unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup or 1 4oz jar of baby food mashed carrots

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray a loaf dish with non-stick spray.
2. In small bowl combine: (set aside)

  • 1/3 Stevia in the Raw
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

3. In a large bowl combine: (whisk together)

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice flour + 2 scoops vanilla whey protein
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  •  ¼ cup Stevia in the Raw

4. In a medium bowl combine: (whisk together & add to large bowl)

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  •  1 4oz jar of baby food mashed carrots

5. Pour a shallow layer of batter into the loaf pan (about 1/4 of the batter).

6. Sprinkle heavily with half of the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Repeat with remaining batter & cinnamon/sugar on top.

7. Draw a knife through the batter to marble.

8. Bake for 24 to 28 min. Let cool for 10 min. Bread will be dense.

Give this recipe a try and let me know what you thought of it in the comments!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

