Skin Care Routine

20121004-105727.jpg

I am on an never ending search for perfect skin. I can no longer count the amount of times I have switched up my skincare routine in the hopes that all my acne, acne scars, and skin discoloration will disappear. My problem was that I never stuck with any routine long enough to see results. If my face didn’t look and feel like a baby’s bum with in a week, it was on to the next best thing.

Finally realizing I was spending way too much money, I started researching how long dermatologist recommend their clients to stay on a routine before their skin starts reacting to the products. A month is what they recommend. So, I put together a regime and have stuck to it for nearly a month now,and my skin has never been clearer. I am so excited I decided to share with you, my current skin care regimen.

Morning Routine/Products:

1. Cetaphil Cleanser

2. Proactive Toner

3. Proactive Treatment

4. Cetaphil Cleanser

5. Yes to Carrots eye cream

In the mornings, I cleanse using the Cetaphil Cleanser for Combination Oily Skin. I like this because its gentle and not overly drying. After pat drying my face, I proceed to use my Proactive Toner. The Proactive Toner contains glycolic acid which serves as a gentle chemical exfoliant. Once my face has dried I apply a quarter size amount of the proactive treatment to my entire face. This contains 2.5% benzoyle peroxide which kills bacteria by raising the oxygen levels in your skin. I follow it with my cetaphil moisturizer and Yes to Carrots eye cream.

Night Routine/Products:

1. Target Brand eye makeup remover (or what ever brand I have at the moment).

2. Any brand makeup wipes, although I am known to favor Target’s brand.

3. Cetaphil Cleanser

4. Proactive Toner

5. Proactive Treatment

6. Proactive Spot Corrector

7. Cetaphil Cleanser

8. Yes to Carrots eye moisturizer

My night routine is very similar to my morning routine with the exception of a few products. Those products include my eye makeup remover and facial makeup wipes. I like to use the target brand because its cheap and hey, it gets the job done. I then cleanse, tone and treat. Before I apply my moisturizers I use the Proactive Spot correcter all over my face. I got it as a free sample and plan to use it until it runs out. I can’t tell yet if its doing anything, but I will keep you all updated.

2-3 times a week I use a facial mask. Right now I am using up what I have which is the Alba Botanicals Deep Sea Facial Mask as well as my Bentonite Clay. Both masks are designed to draw out impurities from your pores and help with oily combination skin.

How long do you normally stick to a new skin care routine? What are your current staples? Let me know in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

