What I Eat Wednesdays: Chicken Teriyaki Recipe

photo-1

I decided to add some structure to my blog posts. I am dedicating Wednesdays to diet and food.  I am calling it What I Eat Wednesdays.  Every Wednesday I will post either a recipe I have tried, an account of the meals I had that day, or share nutritional information.  I hope you guys enjoy this structure.

For the first What I eat Wednesday, I am going to be sharing a Chicken Teriyaki recipe.  For you visual learners, you can watch me prepare it below.

The base of the recipe is really the sauce, which I have to give credit to Katrina and Karena from ToneItUp as I got the recipe from their Beach Babe edition of the plan.  I did modify it a little bit, I did not have all the ingredietns in my kitchen.
photo-2
The great part of this sauce, is you can use it to make teriaki anything.  I’ve tried it with shrimp and beef, they were both equally as good.  Mix in any type of vegetables, and you have an amazingly flavorful stir fry. Give this recipe a whirl and let me know what you think.

Stirfry Ingredients:

-4oz of pre cooked chicken

-1 cup broccoli

-1 cup of chopped onions, varity of peppers (or any veggies)

-1 Tablespoon of Sesame Oil

Teriyaki Sauce Ingredients:

-3 Tablespoons Light Soy Sauce

-1 tablespoon of rice vinegar (I used white vinegar in the video)

-1 Tablespoon Chili Garlic sauce/paste

-1/4 tsp of fresh or ground ginger

– 1 Packet of Stevia

-1/4 tsp of corn starch (used to thicken the sauce)

Directions: Mix all of the Teriyaki Sauce ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.  In a medium sized saute pan or wolk pour in your sesame oil.  When oil is warm, add in your broccoli, pepper and onions.  Stir until onions begin to turn clear or brown.

Proceed to add your chicken and stir for about 3 min.  Then finally add in your Teriyaki Sauce.  Stir over low heat until sauce begins to thicken.  Server over brown rice or eat as is.

Tagged ,

Leave a comment