Guest Post: Kasey from Powercakes.net

beTRUEtoYOU-800-300x300

Happy Monday Everyone! I hope you all prepped your meals last night and are ready to start a new week of workouts and clean eating. A new Work Out World opened up 3 min away from my house today.  This is going to make it that much easier to not make any excuses. 2013 goals, here we come!

To help keep you all motivated this week, I requested the help of Kasey from Powercakes.net.  She is known in the fitness world for her powerbowls/powercakes. I can not say enough good things about Kasey, I found her blog a few months back and she has given me the kick in the butt that I need to reach all my fitness goals this year.  Today, she is sharing 3 tips for  anyone thinking of starting their weight loss journey. I hope that she can be as much of an inspiration to all of you as she has been to me.

Kasey1

Hi all! My name is Kasey Arena and I blog over at powercakes.net! I am a 23 year old certified personal trainer, entrepreneur, blogger, & owner of my own company, POWERCAKES LLC. I specialize in fitness, health, cooking, and baking clean food as well as being the creator and voice behind the Powercakes.net blog and website.

I graduated in May with with a Bachelor’s Degree in Health and Physical Education and am currently pursuing my dreams of launching my very own product. My company product will launch in early 2013!!

I have a passion for teaching the importance of proper nutrition combined with fitness. My goal is to travel around the US to Universities and Schools to present on this topic as well as sharing my POWERCAKES LLC product with others.

I am a proud  Fitfluential, Eat Clean Diet  & BN Shape Ambassador!

Kasey2

I’ve been an athlete my whole life but really got into understanding the importance of a fitness lifestyle in college. My school held a bodybuilding & figure competition every year and I decided to train to compete in 2010. My background includes awards in a few Figure/Bikini Competitions: 2nd place in Tall Class Figure competition at my University, 1st Place in Tall Division at a local University Figure competition, & 5th place in a Pittsburgh Natural Tall Class Competition. In addition, I made a competitive appearance at Fitness America’s MISS Bikini NY 2011 and I recently took 1st place in Miss Bikini Competition Tall Division & Placed 2nd overall last spring at my University’s show.

I guess you could say that I’ve been able to accomplish some titles, but the most important thing to me was that I accomplished a GOAL. The first year that I competed, I listened to everyone around me telling me how to “diet” and lose weight. I did the first show very unhealthy. I hated the way that I felt, so I decided if I was going to compete again, it would be a healthy way. I realized this was more of a lifestyle change I wanted and not so much a “10 week – lose 10% body fat” diet that most people go on.

Along with fueling my fitness, my interest and knowledge in clean dietary and food habits come from my own experiences through dealing with food allergies. I enjoy my favorite foods by preparing them in a “clean” manner that can be merged with my fitness and everyday lifestyle. I practice creativity in the kitchen as a way of overcoming food allergies.

PowerBowl

To learn more about my story, you can go here!

With the new year rolling around, I know a lot of people are looking to kick start their training programs or just take steps in a healthier direction! Some tips I have are:

1)   BE TRUE TO YOU

It’s my motto every single day! So many people want to be like someone else. I think looking at someone for motivation is a great idea, while remembering to be true to themselves and strive to be a healthier version of YOU and not someone you aren’t.

2)   Prep is KEY-

Prepare food in advance and package in Tupperware for easy go to meals and snacks! This way, you’re not standing in front of the fridge wondering what to eat. My favorite way to do this is to roast veggies on a Sunday and have them for a few days!

i.     Chop veggies

ii.     Spray with oil of choice

iii.     Roast at 350 for about 30 minutes

3)   Start with small steps-

A lot of people dive into a new fitness routine and eating plan without preparing. Sometimes if they aren’t educated on what they are doing, they may have trouble or fail at their goal initially. If you take things in small steps – they will turn into HUGE gains! Once you start to create healthy habits, you won’t even have to think about it anymore!

beTrueToYouBTN-400x130

Remember, whether you are a busy college student, a working mother, or a full-time worker, being TRUE TO YOURSELF is so important. I’ve found that having healthy insides is so much more important than looking a certain way in the mirror. After 10 years of digestion issues I decided to start eating plant based and it truly changed my life. You can learn more about that process here.

Fitness & health is a beautiful thing and should be enjoyed! So find what you love to do and GO AFTER IT! The only personal holding you back sometimes is you! You can do anything you set your mind to. At 23 years old I never thought I’d be blogging, teaching, starting my own business, developing my own product, & being able to inspire and motive others every single day. The hardest part of going for your dreams is taking that initial leap. Once you leap, you realize how it wasn’t that scary to begin with. Here’s to 2013 and good luck with all of your goals for this year and years to come!

Where you can find out more about Kasey:

Blog: http://powercakes.net
Instagram: http://instagram.com/powercakes
Facebook: http://facebook.com/powercakes
Twitter: http://twitter.com/powercakes
You Tube Channel: http://youtube.com/user/KEA9578
Pinterest Page: http://pinterest.com/powercakes

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Kasey from Powercakes.net

  1. Thank you SO much for having me today!! ❤

  2. abiainscough says:

    Great post! You’re so right – there’s no point following the same routines and diets as everyone else if it isn’t working for you. You’ve got to listen to your body!

Leave a Reply

