Cheaper and Healthier Caramel Lattes

2013-01-03 07.49.49

All throughout college I drank caramel latte’s with an extra shot of expresso and squirt of caramel.  Have you ever looked at the amount of sugar in those things? If not, go take a look.  Let’s just say I do not have them anymore, but I can’t deny that I crave them.

In a recent trip to a local supplement store, my boyfriend picked up a caramel latte flavored whey protein shake made by Intek.  I first tried it with just almond milk and I found it a tad too sweet.  The next morning I brewed a cup of coffee let it cool and tossed it in a blender with a scoop of the Intek shake, almond milk and some ice cubes.

And, oh My Goodness, I kid you not this concoction taste just as good as the caramel latte frappes you can get at Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts, for my New England readers.

If you are a latte fanatic like I am, try this recipe out. I pair mine with a bowl of oatmeal in the mornings.  It will not only help crave your sweet tooth, it will probably save you some extra cash as well.

Ingredients:

– 4oz of coffee (try brewing some the night before and placing it in your fridge)

-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

-Caramel Latte flavored protein shake (you can also make this with a vanilla flavored protein shake or chocolate if you like mocha lattes)

-2-3 ice cubes

-1 packet of stevia (optional depending on the sweetness of your shake)

Directions: Pour all ingredients into a blender, mix until desired consistency. Pour it into your favorite cup and enjoy it with a straw.  It really adds to the whole coffee shop experience.

What do all of you do to make your favorite coffee drinks healthier?

Leave a Reply

