Slow and Steady Wins the Race

photo-9

It has taken me 1 whole year to get to this point in my fitness journey.  I started in April 2012 with a online nutritionist and using Tone It Up meals to keep things interesting.  By August 2012 I had lost 10lbs.  I was losing about 0.5-1lbs per week, which is what is recommended for healthy weight loss.

Today a whole year later, I weigh 134lbs.  I maintained the weight I had lost and my body fat percentage has continued to decrease. (I started at 29% and I am now at 22%.  My goal is to reach 18% by the end of June.)

The funny thing about weight loss is, the number on the scale can play so many tricks on your mind.  When you don’t see the number decreasing its so easy to get discouraged.  There were so many times where I just wanted to say “F*** It”, this isn’t working so I might as well just have that brownie I’ve been craving for the last 5 weeks. But I didn’t, and I haven’t given up.

I hit a plateau in my scale weight a while ago.  Until last week I wasn’t losing weight but I was “getting smaller”.  I routinely take progress pictures like the one you see above and I see the changes my body is making even if the scale isn’t budging.

If I ever want to reach my goal, I can’t let a stupid number dictate my motivation. The only thing I can do at this point is make sure my diet is clean, that I get up and do cardio and bust my butt weight training 3x/wk.

I have to be consistent, but and most importantly I have to be patient.

Who am I racing against? This journey is for me, so  what if it takes me another year to get in the best shape of my life?  So what if it takes me another year to step on stage for my 1st bikini show? I am learning to take it all in, and making eating clean and exercise apart of my life.  I am keeping it slow and steady.

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristole

Leave a Reply

