How I Use MyFitnessPal

One of the many ways that I like to stay accountable with my weight loss goals is by tracking the food I eat.  I used to use a pen and paper but it became really inconvenient to lug around another notebook.  It also requires that you always have the package of food you are eating because you need to see the label in order to write down the calories, macros, etc or if you are eating whole foods, you need to memorize those numbers.  Who has time for that? Thankfully we are now in a world that has smartphones and there is an app for everything!

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 7.32.27 AM

The app I used to track my macronutrient and calorie intake is MyFitnessPal. It is a free app available online or via your smartphone, for both Apple and Android devices. MyFitnessPal allows you to input your caloric goals, macronutrient breakdown (out of 100%), number of times you want to workout and for how long.  Based on the information you enter it will even give you your weekly projected weight loss if you follow your plan to a T.

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 7.38.36 AM

On MyFitnessPal I have my meals broken down as Meal 1- Meal 5.  I try to track my meals in real time on my iPhone because I find that if I wait until the end of the day, I forget what it was that I ate or I forget to enter it completely.  MyFitnessPal has a huge food database and you can literally search for any type of food item, cooked in almost any type of way.  If you are someone who eats out a lot and want a way to track how many calories you are consuming, you can search for the meal you had at X restaurant and 95% of the time, MyFitnessPal will have it.  On the phone version it also has an awesome bar scanner to make it even easier to record your meals.

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 7.40.42 AM

I mainly use MyFitnessPal to track my meals, however you can also track your exercise or workout of the day.  Because I use a lot of online workouts and DVDs I am not able to find a lot of the routines I do on the MyFitnessPal exercise database.  It does have a lot of the typical cardiovascular workouts such as the elliptical and the treadmill, so if you are someone who only does cardio, this comes in handy.  All you need to do is select what equipment you used and enter in the amount of minutes and MyFitnessPal will calculate on average how many calories you might have burned.

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 7.38.45 AM

On the bottom of each of the daily food diary it will calculate your totals for the day and let you know if you went over your goals or were under.  There is even a place to track your water intake and write notes.

There are so many other features to MyFitnessPal that make it a desirable app to have for anyone on a weight loss journey, but as I mentioned I only use it to track my meals.

If you want to be friends with me on MyFitnessPal add me! My food diary is open so you will be able to see what I eat each day.  My profile name is RodriClarissa.

Leave a Reply

